Read-a-Thon in 3, 2, 1…

Finally Dewey’s 24H Read-a-Thon is arriving!

And this is the perfect occasion to try to knock down part of the paper brick wall!

I haven’t had the chance to join the fun since April 2009 so you can imagine how much I’m looking forward to it, even though I have participated in similar events since. And because I am so excited, I have already grouped together the books I plan on reading :

Obviously I won’t get to read all of these in 24 hours, but this is my selection. I’m hoping to get through at least 2, hopefully 3!

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Beautiful Days by Anna Godberson

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

So, who’s in for the read-o-thon? Which of these books would you start with?

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Read-a-Thon in 3, 2, 1…”

  1. Amanda says :

    Yay Readathon!! Prophecy of the Sisters wasn’t my favorite book, but it’s certainly fun and fast and will make a great RAT selection! I haven’t read any of the others, though I’ve tried to read Jellicoe Road twice and both times was so confused in the first 10 pages that I gave up…lol. Good luck on that! 😀

  2. alitareads says :

    Hey, you managed to hold off on Lola! Have fun readathon-ing! Hopefully I’ll see you around during the day 🙂

  3. Lenore Appelhans says :

    I’ve read all of those except Beautiful Days! I have to say I don’t think Jellicoe Road is an ideal Read-a-thon book. It’s very confusing and takes a lot of you when you want to just be breezing through. I’d say start with Daughter of Smoke and Bone, move on to Lola, then PotS or ATTID.

  4. Vasilly says :

    Your stack looks great! I had no idea that Perkins came out with a new book! I can’t believe that it’s been so long since you last participated in the read-a-thon. Happy reading!

  5. lisa says :

    your reading list is amazing! have a BLAST and keep us posted! ❤

  6. Lucy says :

    Great list! I’ve read a few of these and recommend starting with Lola. It is a fast and entertaining read and it’s on the short side to get you motivated. Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Prophecy of the Sisters would be good next. I’ve heard great things about Jellicoe Road too though.
    Have fun!

  7. The Joy of Booking says :

    I’d start with All These Things I’ve Done – just because I’m anxious to read that one!

  8. Mystica says :

    All these things I’ve done would be my choice as its the one I too would like to read!

  9. theoncominghope says :

    Great choices! I’m really excited, and we’ve only got half an hour to go!

    My list is here if you’re interested:
    http://theoncominghope.blogspot.com/2011/10/24-hour-readathon.html

  10. nea barabea (@neabarabea) says :

    Books are a uniquely portable magic. ~Stephen King

    Nice choice of books!! 🙂 Hope you’ll reach your goal!

    Happy reading!

Leave a comment