Artsy Shelf – 31 – Intense Red

You all know how I love  pretty dresses on cover! And I have mentioned at least once before with the Artsy Shelf feature how much I love red dresses. Well it seems it’s a passion shared by the YA world, as many of the recent covers feature stunning dresses in dramatic settings and colors.


I have always felt the color evokes passion and intensity, and these covers do a great job of showcasing red as a strong, intense, dramatic color. Contrasted with grays, white or dark tones, put in movement by the swirls of a dress, it stands out beautifully. Everneath is my favorite, I think, though The Girl in the Steel Corset is also striking. I also love Juliet Immortal’s cover, with its beautiful sea landscape.

Do these covers evoke as much passion for you, or do they miss the mark? Which one is your favorite?

Tags:

9 responses to “Artsy Shelf – 31 – Intense Red”

  1. The Book Wurrm says :

    I love your artsy shelf meme. ❤

  2. Hannah Mariska says :

    I love Unearthly and Everneath. I haven’t read them but I would definitely pick them up based on the cover! They are stunning – well all the covers are stunning.

    I haven’t seen this version of Unearthly before either!

  3. Juju at Tales of Whimsy... says :

    I’m such a sucker for red dresses.

  4. avisannschild says :

    Love these posts, although I can’t say I’m drawn to any of these covers, particularly (but then this is not my genre of choice, either). My favourite is Juliet Immortal.

    I think there are two other covers that use the same image as Dark Angel, though the dress is a different colour!

  5. BermudaOnion says :

    Red if my favorite color so I LOVE all of those covers.

  6. zibilee says :

    I love all of these red dresses! They certainly are lovely, and I thank you for sharing them!

  7. heidenkind says :

    What about Die For Me?

Leave a comment