Sunday Salon : on Read-a-Thon envy and Books

The Sunday Salon.com Good Morning everyone!

So it’s true : one week from now, it’s the biannual Dewey’s Read-a-thon! Can you feel the excitement? I can! And I don’t even know yet if I’ll be able to participate – but probably not. I’d say there are 9 chances out of 10 that I won’t be able to, and I’m a little sad about it! But I have to act wisely for once (gasp!), and joining the fun would mean loosing two days of studying. Unless everything goes extremely well this week, I really can’t afford this! 

But, enough with the whining already! If you’re free next weekend and love to read, you should join! Because :

  • You’ll get to read a lot.
  • You can meet new fantastic bloggers!
  • You can participate in mini challenges and win prizes
  • You can read for a cause (for instance, giving 5$ per book to X cause)
  • Reading a lot = helping your TBR pile get smaller

deweys-readathonbutton

If I can’t join on the reading fun, I know that I’ll at least be lurking around, maybe cheering some of you up! So please join, it’s a fantastic event and it’s extremely fun to read together with the book blogger community!

And while we are o the Read-a-Thon topic, if you haven’t seen it, take a look at my comic from yesterday 😉 It’s kind of appropriate, and dedicated to the Read-a-Thon participants!

By the way, who’s participating in the Read-a-Thon? Leave me a note here, and I’ll try to go cheer you next weekend! 

On to the books now!

Books Read this Week :

  • Sophomore Switch by Abby McDonald
  • Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs
  • Buffy Season 8, Volume 2 : No Future for You by Joss Whedon, Georges Jeanty
  • Simon’s Cat by Simon Tofield

Books Reviewed this Week :

Today, in between study sessions and working on papers, I’ll be reading The Maze Runner by James Dashner. And oh, am I having a difficult time getting into this book! I’ve been dragging this for four days already, and I’m just not as excited to read it as I would like to be. It’s not bad, not at all, but there’s something that doesn’t click with me, and it bugs me even more that I don’t know what exactly!

Fahrenheit 451 is being a better read for me, and so far I enjoy it! I read it for school something like twelve years ago, and in French, so my memory of it is quasi null. Also, every time I try to remember it, I have flashes of Christian Bale in Equilibrium, burning art and stuff.

So, what are you reading today?

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Sunday Salon : on Read-a-Thon envy and Books”

  1. Bella says :

    I wish I was participating in the readathon too. With 14mo twins it’s impossible but I will be cheering everyone on. 24 hours of reading sounds like bliss.

  2. Amanda says :

    I hope you end up with that 10th chance and joined us! Make sure to let us know if you can!!

  3. Vasilly says :

    Awww! I wish you were participating. But you’re right, studying is more important. I plan on studying all this week and turning in homework early so I can have the weekend free.

  4. Trish says :

    Study schmudy. You don’t need to do that! Oh wait–bad Trish. You should probably study. OR READ WITH US!! 🙂

    I’m sorry you won’t be able to participate but hopefully you can sneak in a few pages.

  5. Staci says :

    You’re not the first person to say that The Maze Runner is slow. I’m not sure if I will bother with it or not. I’m participating again in the 24 Read Fest and will also be cheering for an hour. I can’t wait!!!

  6. bermudaonion says :

    Sorry to see The Maze Runner is slow for you – my husband has it at the top of his TBR pile.

  7. kay says :

    Bella : I agree, I participated in the last read-a-thon and it did feel like bliss! But I can understand how it won’t be possible for you with two young children. I had no idea your twins were this young! 🙂

    Amanda : I hope so too! I had so much fun last time!

    Vasilly : I wish so too! Well, who knows, maybe I will 🙂 I’m trying to do exactly like you, study hard and hope to have some time on the weekend, but it’s also possible we’ll have friends visiting.

    Trish : Haha! I’m really willing to obey your command and read – except I probably shouldn’t! I wish I could pause time and do both!

    Staci : Really? I’m so glad to hear that! All I’ve seen is raving reviews of the book. I’ll try to go by your blog to cheer you during the read-a-thon! 🙂

    Kathy : I hope he’ll enjoy it! After reading some more of it this afternoon, I’m liking it a little better.

  8. Kate at Read This Book! says :

    I am excited for the Read-a-Thon. My first ever Read-a-Thon and I doubt I will have time for future ones so this will be an experience. 🙂

  9. Ceri says :

    I won’t be taking part in the read-a-thon either. As much as I love reading, my attention span is pretty pathetic during the day, and I do tend to read for an hour and then fall asleep if I’m too comfy haha!

    You did well with your reads this week. 😀 Hope the book gets better for you – nothing worse than something that takes ages to get into.

  10. Juju says :

    I admire any one taking part in the readathon. Very admirable.

  11. Violet says :

    I wish you could join us 😦 But yes, studying seems more important, do try to join us for some time though 🙂

  12. Meghan says :

    I’m sorry that you won’t be participating in the Read-a-thon! I hope it works out so that you actually can. I found The Maze Runner picked up when I got used to the slang – I hope it improves for you!

  13. claire says :

    Oh Kay.. I’m bummed that you won’t be participating this time. Had so much fun reading along with you last time. But thank you for the comic. Happy studying (and hopefully cheering)! 😀

Leave a comment