Artsy Shelf – 32 – Big Blue Eyes

Back in January, I featured on the Artsy Shelf covers with closeups, two of which inspired me today’s feature. It seems that blue eyes contrasted with a pale skin might be the perfect way to capture the readers’ attention.


There’s a definite resemblance between Russel Smith’s Girl Crazy and Lauren Grodstein’s A Friend of the Family, which is why in my mind I often confuse those two covers. I think A Friend of the Family is more effective as a cover, but Girl Crazy has a nice softness to it.

The colors on Infinite Days and Deadly Cool are very intense, which is probably a great way to stand out in a crowd of dark YA covers. I kind of like it because it’s a bit different, though not the most memorable covers.

Do these covers work for you, or do they miss the mark? Which one is your favorite?

Tags:

4 responses to “Artsy Shelf – 32 – Big Blue Eyes”

  1. Juju at Tales of Whimsy says :

    All pretty. Now I’m wondering if there are more blue eyed covers than brown eyed covers.

  2. The Book Wurrm says :

    I’m almost certain that the model for Deadly Cool and Girl Crazy is the same. Perhaps they took the pictures from the same set of stock pictures. I don’t know. But it is intense. I wonder if there are green eyes floating around. I don’t like the cover of Predicteds too much. I feel as though whatever intensity the book had was sacrificed by the liberal use of line breaks and fracturing.

  3. zibilee says :

    I like all of them, but am a bit partial to Infinite Days. The big blue eyed cover does seem to be a trend right now, no?

Leave a comment