The Beauty of Reading – Part III

I have made no secret of my love for paintings representing books and reading, and time has come for another selection of beautiful art.

To see part I, click here.

To see part II, click here.

I find that portraits of family reading together are just adorable, but they also bring me back in time to when loved ones read all those beautiful stories to me. They enchant me and make me feel nostalgic all at the same time.

Renoir, The Children of Martial Caillebotte, 1895

William Sergeant Kendall, An Interlude, 1907

Auguste Toumouche, Reading Lesson, 1865

Frederick Warren Freer, Mother and Child reading

James Sant, The Fairy Tale, 1845-1870

Joseph Seymour Guy, Small Story of Golden Locks, 1870

I love, love, love the kid’s expression in the last one. He (she?) looks kinda surprised-scare. I remember exactly that feeling of fear when one of your characters is in danger, and you just want your mom/sister/father to get to the end so they can be safe again! For me, it was the Little Red Riding Hood : that mean wolf, he scared me every single time.

I sincerely can’t pick a favorite though – can you?

I’m gonna be an aunt for the first time in November, and I’m already looking forward to living these moments on the other side of the book 😀

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “The Beauty of Reading – Part III”

  1. VioletCrush says :

    I love reading family portraits too. Love all the pics.

  2. Rhiannon Hart says :

    I love these posts!! I do love that last one too. And the Sant. Gorgeous.

  3. Rhiannon Hart says :

    And congratulations on being an aunt! I can’t wait to be one either, though I’ll have to wait a bit I’m sure. *hint hint brother*

  4. Amanda says :

    I like the second and last one the best. There’s something about the child’s expression in that second one that I really love.

    How fun to become an aunt! 🙂 I’m only an aunt once and love to see my neice. 😀

  5. bermudaonion says :

    They’re all lovely, but I agree with you about that bottom painting – that must be a great story she’s reading.

  6. Juju at Tales of Whimsy... says :

    I love the fairy tale 🙂

  7. Meg says :

    Oh, I adore the last one, too! You’re right: the child’s expression is what grabbed me right away. He/she is so enthralled in what’s going on, their whole countenance changes. That’s the way to be involved in a book… totally absorbed!

  8. Alyce says :

    I love the kid’s look in the last one too!

  9. Literary Feline says :

    Congratulations, Kay! How exciting for you. I love those paintings. I admit I don’t have many memories of being read to, although I’m sure my parents did read to me plenty. Mostly I remember finding a quiet spot all my own and disappearing into a book for awhile. I’m looking forward to creating moments like the ones you’ve posted with my own child in the coming years. Hopefully my child will remember more than I do!

Leave a comment