Review : Crescendo

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Pages : 427
Genre : YA, Fantasy
Series : Hush, Hush, book 2
My Rating :

What it’s about, in my Words :

Nora thought she could finally enjoy her romantic life with Patch like any other teenage couple, but she was wrong. It’s the start of the summer and Patch suddenly starts acting distant, bringing to their relationship all the drama they didn’t need. On top of that, she is seeing her dead father in the streets and her mom is trying to match her with a friend’s son, who brings trouble of his own.

For Nora, one thing is clear : this summer won’t be a all sun, fun and beach!

As I said on Twitter, Crescendo is like Hush, Hush with an energy boost! The action and twists never stop, making the sequel even more of an horror-movie-on-paper than the first book. It’s fast pace, fast reading and definitely doesn’t let you breath until the very end.

And while I’m talking about the ending, can I just say : WHAT!?!?

Talk about a cliffhanger! You’re on page 426, thinking this is all over (for now) and trying to catch your breath after the marathon that was Crescendo when BAM! The author sets the floor on fire and you have to start running again! I love when the author leaves some questions opened for the next sequel, but this is serious cliffhangering we’re talking about here.

Back to the first 425 pages of the book now : I was surprised by some decisions the author took very soon in the beginning, mainly the growing distance between Nora and Patch. If Patch was creepy and controlling in the first book, now he is just creepy and weird. It’s difficult to get a grasp on his motives with all that time away from Nora, who by the way has the worst sense in the world when it comes to making decisions! I guess it would drive some readers crazy, but I do find her entertaining.

She’s also one of the unluckiest characters ever, poor Nora! Everything bad that can happen, will happen. I guess there’s no surprise there when you live in a foggy farmhouse far from everything! Lucky for her, there’s always some baddy around to save her, and her friend Vee is always there when needed, too. (But seriously, is there even one good guy left in this crazy town?!? Doesn’t look like it!)

As for the story, there are so many twists and turns and details it would be hard to summarize. I was glad that some of the questions I had in Hush, Hush had been answered. Mainly, I wondered why Patch wasn’t loosing his wings again since it was that kind of lust that made him lose them the first time around, and the author addressed the issue really soon in the beginning. Fitzpatrick focussed mainly on characters we already knew, and the few that are introduced are developed enough that they don’t feel like strangers. I was again impressed by how the author’s writing makes scenes very cinematographic, her descriptions giving you just enough to see the scene in your head as if you were there.

In the end, I had a great time reading Crescendo. It’s entertaining, fast, and keeps you wondering until its last pages.

Also, don’t forget my awesome giveaway of 2 copies of the first book Hush, Hush! Enter here! It’s the last day to enter, so don’t hesitate now! 🙂

Series Reading Order :

  1. Hush, Hush
  2. Crescendo

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Review : Crescendo”

  1. Juju at Tales of Whimsy... says :

    “Some baddy” to save her! Nice 🙂 Sounds about right 🙂 Great review!

  2. taraSG says :

    I liked this more than the first book, but I was shocked at the ending! I like a little cliffhanger, but ones like this just tick me off :/

  3. Lenore says :

    I read a hardcover of Hush Hush and am just now remembering that Becca said she changed something from the ARC. I think I may have to check the ARC now to see what she changed.

  4. La Coccinelle says :

    I really want to read this one! Only a couple more weeks to go…

  5. kay says :

    Juju : Nora is a baddy-magnet. There’s nothing she can do about it!

    Tara : They tick me off too! I think mostly it was better than the first one. I’ll be reading the next one that’s for sure!

    Lenore : I would be really curious to ear what you find out! Have you read Crescendo yet?

    La Coccinelle : It’s coming soon! But be prepared to want the third one when you finish reading this one. Not, that will be a long wait! 😛

  6. VioletCrush says :

    I enjoyed Hush Hush and I really want to read this one too. I hate cliffhangers though.

  7. healy says :

    I’m reading Crescendo and I totally miss Patch, it’s so frustrating!

Leave a comment