Review : Love Walked In

Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos
Pages : 307
Genre : Fiction, Romance
First of two books
My Rating :

What it’s about, in my words :

Love Walked In tells two stories crossing each other’s path to become one. Cornelia is happy living her life working in a coffee-shop, dreaming of meeting her own Carry Grant. When she meets Martin Grace, she thinks she might have found it –  but their relationship is not without a few surprises. Martin has a daughter, Clare, who’s mother has been acting up weirder and weirder in the past weeks. The eleven years old girl first tries to take care of things by herself, but when her mother disappears, her life is instantly turned upside down – as is Cornelia’s.

This book had me up and down and everywhere in between. It had been a long time since I had read such a heartfelt novel, filled with love and sadness and laugher and hope all at the same time. Marisa de los Santos’s writing is beautiful and “just enough” : just enough humor, just enough scenes to make you cry, just enough romance, just enough movies references, etc. Once I turned the last page, I wanted more, but I really had to take some time to distance myself from the book before I read Belong to Me.

The author created realistic characters that I could understand and love and care for. Their mistakes and imperfections made them true to life and easy enough to relate to. Even more than that, I appreciated that the author didn’t pick the most predictable storyline for them – or not entirely, anyway.

The relationship between Cornelia and Clare, once they came to know each other, was so vibrant! I could feel through the pages how much they care for each other, and that was one of the most beautiful aspects of the book. In our lives, we tend to characterize people in categories – parents, husband, friends, etc. – but some relationships don’t really have a clear label, and that’s how I felt about those two.

Love Walked In is one of my favorite reads this year and I am so glad I finally had the joy to read it. I am looking forward to reading Belong to Me, hopefully soon. So for all of you who voted in my This or That post, I owe you! 😀

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Review : Love Walked In”

  1. Nicole says :

    A friend of mine read this and raved about it for months. I have another of her books but it seems as if this one is the one to have.

  2. christina says :

    I was really impressed with this book. When I picked it up, I expected it to be a regular ole chicklit book. Y’know, something I could pass the Sunday away. But there was so much depth. And I absolutely loved the “twist” (as in, not what **I** was expecting) of the girl. I don’t think of myself as a maternal person, but it pulled at my heart strings for sure.

  3. Amanda says :

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I was surprised by just how much I loved this book when I read it two years ago.

  4. bermudaonion says :

    I loved this book too! I got Belong to Me right after I read it but haven’t read it yet.

  5. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) says :

    I really loved this book as well. Cornelia and Claire were just so sweet and wonderful when they were with each other after they became close.

  6. Mary says :

    This was on my 2009 favorite book list – loved it. I have Belong to Me on the shelf but haven’t read it yet.

  7. Vasilly says :

    Yay! I’m so glad that you enjoyed this book! I read it last year and loved it.

  8. alitareads says :

    One of your favourites of the year? That phrase alone is enough to add this to my to-read list. So glad to hear you loved it!

  9. Meg says :

    Hooray — so happy to hear you enjoyed it! I really loved this one when I read it years ago, but Belong To Me touched me even more. You’re in for a treat!

  10. Lisamm says :

    I read Belong to Me last year and really enjoyed it but haven’t read Love Walked In. It’s been on my list for a long time-

  11. toothy says :

    i don’t know why i haven’t read this book yet! it’s been sitting on my shelf for way too long. this review just reminded me that i need to get to it. i’m glad you enjoyed it so much though!

  12. Jessica says :

    I’ve had this on my shelf for about a year, but haven’t gotten the chance to read it yet. You’ve definitely convinced me to pick it up soon!

Leave a comment