While in Paris – Inside the Louvre

Once upon a time (last April), I went to Paris and took thousands of pictures!

I then promised to share them, which I did only once yet, while sharing my climbing of the Eiffel Tower. But in the last few weeks, while I was sick, I finally took the time to go through all those pictures and select my favorites. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do a few features with those, and I hope you’ll enjoy them with me!

Today, I am bringing you with me to visit none other than the Louvre!

The Louvre is a beautiful and rich museum, holding some of the most precious pieces of art in the world. But more than that, the Louvre is also a place rich in history, beautiful by its architecture that allies at once past and present.

What surprised me the most wasn’t the art itself though, but the fact that the museum is, in itself, a piece of art. The architecture is stunning, yes, but then you enter the rooms and you get another, wonderful surprise : some of the most ancient rooms are decorated with paintings, murals, sculptures, work stunning enough to make you melt on place (I know I did!)

Here are a few pictures of the beautiful Louvre’s ceiling, which, by comparison, makes my white ceiling look a little bland :

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “While in Paris – Inside the Louvre”

  1. Emily and Her Little Pink Notes says :

    Standing Ovation! Love your pics and you are right The Louvre is a piece of art

  2. bermudaonion says :

    The Louvre is fabulous and your pictures are too!!

  3. teenagersmom says :

    Very beautiful pictures, thank you for sharing!

  4. Amanda says :

    I was in Paris for one weekend in 1999, and that weekend, all the museum workers were on strike, so the Louvre was closed. In fact, just about everything was closed, including the crypt down at Notre Dame and anything that needed a tour guide. The only good thing that came out of the strike is that the Rodin museum, instead of closing, just let everyone in for free.

  5. Steph says :

    Love the pictures! You make me want to re-visit the Louvre tout suite! The last time I went was well over 10 years ago, and my memory of the building’s own beauty has definitely faded.

  6. Meg says :

    Your photos are just stunning! I would love to visit Paris someday… it’s on my “must travel” list! And the Louvre would be a definite stop.

  7. heidenkind says :

    Great pics! Did you use a filter on the outdoor shots?

  8. Vasilly says :

    I’m melting here in my chair! These pictures are so beautiful!

  9. kay says :

    Emily : Wow, thank you! 😀

    Juju : Thanks! 🙂

    Kathy : It is fabulous! Inside, out, and the art too!

    Teenagersmom : Thank you so much!

    Amanda : Aww, I’m so sorry to hear that. I would have been disappointed, too. But the Rodin museum is wonderful, and I’m sure you had a great time there, yes? I know I loved it. I have pictures of it coming, too!

    Steph : He! I want to visit it again, too! I’m glad I have the pictures to help my memories; there’s just so much to see, it’s hard to remember it all!

    Meg : Thanks Meg! Paris is wonderful, and the Louvre is definitely a must when visiting. There’s something for everyone there. The deserts were fantastic, too!

    HEidenkind : Thank you! I did use a graduate filter for the first picture, which was taken by the end of the day. The second outdoor shot was taken in the morning, with no filter, when the sky was still a little gray.

    Vasilly : Thank you so much 😀

Leave a comment