Artsy Shelf – 17 – Girl in a Red Dress

I love red dresses.

Correct that : I LOVE red dresses! It’s been decided for a long time that I probably won’t be getting married in white, but in red; or, in white with great accents of red. There is something so passionate about a long, flowy red dress!

So, that was my girly confession of the day; now that this is out in the air, why don’t we look at book covers featuring some of those red dresses!

It’s hard for me to pick a favorite : I like them all for different reasons. I think they all give a different feeling. For instance, I love the mysterious, almost magical vibe of The Girl Who Chased the Moon (which I want to read, as I have head great things on this author).

I really like the dresses on The Liberation of Alice Love and The Jewel of St. Petersburg. I read Abby McDonald’s Sophomore Switch and enjoy it, and if her adult fiction has a similar vibe, than I think this cover represents it well. I do think though, that as a book cover,  The Jewel of St. Petersburg doesn’t stand out as much as it could. I like the picture though, but I find the title too subtle. I prefer when the title is bigger than the author’s name.

Which brings me to Meg Cabot’s Insatiable. I think it really does scream “vampire”, which it is partly about from what I understand. I have loved everything I read from Meg Cabot, so this will definitely be on my shelves once it comes out (June 2010! that’s soon!)

Have you read any of these books? Which cover (if any) captures your imagination among these?

Tags:

13 responses to “Artsy Shelf – 17 – Girl in a Red Dress”

  1. avisannschild says :

    I love the colours on the Diane Chamberlain book: the juxtaposition of the bright red, bright blue, bright green. But there’s something wrong with her hand — maybe it’s too sharply in focus compared to the rest of the image? The Cipher is the least interesting cover to me — the colours are too flat or something and the cover looks cluttery. The only book I’m really keen to read of the lot is The Girl Who Chased the Moon!

    • kay says :

      I agree one hundred percent with you on The Cipher : without being a bad cover, it’s typical fantasy cover. And your comment made me realize I forgot to mention Chamberlain’s cover! I agree the cover is beautiful, and the angle makes me feel like we’re hiding behind the woman. As for the hand, yes,I think it’s a focus thing; I’d be curious to see a bigger version of it to see if it has the same effect.

  2. VioletCrush says :

    I insisted on getting married in red too but in our culture its very common. We either get married in red, green or gold 🙂

    I LOVE long flowy red dresses too, that’s why I think I like the dress in The Jewel of St. Petersburg the most. The Cipher cover is plain bad.

  3. Lex says :

    The Liberation of Alice Love, for me, has the best cover and the best dress. I love how red is so feminine and ladylike when it comes to dresses.

    I wanted to ask Kay, is the first two books mentioned good? Have you reviewed them?

    I was also surprised that Meg Cabot wrote a book I have never heard of and then you said it will come out around June. I’ll be waiting for that too!

  4. bermudaonion says :

    I LOVE red anything! I think my favorite of the covers is The Girl Who Chased the Moon.

  5. ~ames~ says :

    The Liberation of Alice Love looks good and that cover is gorgeous.

  6. Jacqueline C says :

    They’re all pretty eye-catching covers. I love clothes, so the red dresses would make me look twice at each. The covers that intrigue me the most about the stories are: The Jewel of St. Petersburg, The Girl Who Chased the Moon and Insatiable.

  7. avisannschild says :

    Oh and I meant to say: Yay for getting married in red. I’ve always thought that’s what I’d do too, although at this point it seems unlikely I will tie the knot. (I’m happily living in sin!)

  8. Juju says :

    I just adore covers with red dresses.
    Can I nominate Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart

  9. Vasilly says :

    I’ve always wanted to wear a red-and-white polka dot dress but have always lacked the nerve to do so. The Liberation of Alice Love is my favorite cover. That dress is gorgeous.

  10. Meg says :

    I’m absolutely, 100 percent with you on the red dress love! My prom dress was bright red and, if I could still fit in it, I’d totally still wear it. Or have it shortened!

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon was an interesting book — and the cover totally matched the whimsical content! Sarah Addison Allen is a fabulous author, though my favorite of her novels is still her first: Garden Spells.

Leave a comment