Filling the Shelf – 16

Filling the Shelf is basically Mailbox Monday (created by The Printed Page) or In my Mailbox (created by The Story Siren ), but with a title that suits my blog 😀  If you’re interested in joining the fun or seeing what other bloggers added to their shelves, I invite you to visit those two awesome bloggers!

We received many things in the mail last Thursday : the Rome box set, our travel guide to Paris (we are officially going at the end of April!), and a few other things, among which, books! I’m always happy when books come home, especially on a bad day. I also did a lot of bookshopping.

Here’s what joined the TBR pile recently :

Willow by Julia Hoban : I have seen this YA novel around a lot and meant to read it; the paperback coming out was the perfect occasion.

When we Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro : I loved Never let me Go, but I hadn’t decided which book of Ishiguro I wanted to read next. I found this one at the used bookstore, so I guess this is it. I haven’t heard much about this one.

Notes on a Scandal by Zoë Heller : Even before getting The Believers, I wanted to read this one. Again, I found this one at the used bookstore. I was lucky!

The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova : I guess the author came to the bookstore and I missed it, because this copy is signed by the author! I love that it’s signed, and I can’t wait to read it.

Veracity by Layra Bynum : This is a dystopian novel, which I’ve read a few good reviews of, and I was curious about it. Same thing goes for :

The Things that Keep us Here by Carla Buckley : Which also has a beautiful cover.

Have you read any of these books? Any recommendation as to which one I should begin with first? What did you add on your own shelves this week?

Tags:

7 responses to “Filling the Shelf – 16”

  1. Amanda says :

    I really want to read Notes on a Scandal!!

  2. Steph says :

    Ha ha! It does look like we had similar reading jones this week! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on all of these books, but especially the Ishiguro and the Heller! I really think you’ll like Heller a lot!

  3. alitareads says :

    I haven’t read any of those yet, but The Thing That Keep Us Here sounds really good!

  4. Meghan says :

    When We Were Orphans is pretty good, but not Ishiguro’s best. I think you should enjoy it anyway! I haven’t read any of the others but they do look good.

  5. bermudaonion says :

    I liked The Swan Thieves and Willow and hope you do too. I’m so excited for you because you’re going to go to Paris!

  6. Juju says :

    I read The Things That Keep Us Here and am currently holding a contest for my ARC.

    Here’s the link to my review and contest: http://www.talesofwhimsy.com/2010/02/things-that-keep-us-here-blog-tour.html

    Good luck!
    These all look good 😉

  7. Lenore says :

    I’ve read Willow, Notes on a Scandal and The Things that Keep Us Here and all are great!

Leave a comment