Another kind of TBR pile

I have two TBR piles at home, two different kind of piles I have often enough talked about. The most well known is, of course, my “To Be Read” pile. The second one is my “To Be Reviewed” pile which, despite my best efforts, isn’t getting any smaller.

(click on the picture to see a bigger view)

As you can see, it’s mostly YA lit, and a lot of speculative fiction. It’s not that I don’t know what to say about the books : I have taken notes for each of them, so writing the reviews is more about putting together all the facts in order to present a review with some meaning.

So, what should I review next?

And what about you? Do you also have a “To be reviewed” pile, or are you quick on writing down your thoughts?

Tags:

16 responses to “Another kind of TBR pile”

  1. alitareads says :

    I’m voting for two books: Looking for Alaska (because I liked it a lot and want to hear your thoughts) and Spin (because I really want to read it, but might need some convincing to pick it up).

  2. The1stdaughter says :

    My vote would be for Soulless or City of Glass. I’ve read the latter and absolutely loved it, but I’ve heard so many good things about Soulless that I’ve been dying to read it. Either way, I can’t for your review!

  3. Lenore says :

    My to be reviewed pile always consists of 1 book, or less. I can’t seem to read ’em fast enough to keep up with my reviewing pace I set for myself (3-4 times a week).

  4. Amanda says :

    Wow. My to be reviewed pile is never more than 5-6 books. Have you considered doing a round of grouped mini-reviews? Like take one post to write a paragraph or two about 5-6 books?

  5. Fyrefly says :

    I think Amanda’s mini-reviews idea is a good one, and you could probably bang it out fairly quickly, and cut that pile down.

    I try not to let more than a week go by after I finish a book before I review it, mostly because I *don’t* take regular notes, so if I don’t review a book pretty quickly, it’s already gone from my head. My goal for this year was no more than 48 hours between finish and review, but that’s just not practical with real life stuff. In any case, the only time my TBRev pile is more than 2 or 3 books is right after read-a-thons.

  6. bermudaonion says :

    Holy cow! I say review Hate List next.

  7. Becky at "One Literature Nut" says :

    That’s funny, because I have several different kinds of TBR piles. In fact, I have a bookshelf of TBR books. I kind of split them into review books like you do, but then they are split into genres such as classics I’ve collected, YA, chick lit, ethnic/contemporary reads, etc. Honestly, I need to stop accepting books and just focus on what I have, but what’s the fun in that?!? 🙂

  8. Juju says :

    I write my thoughts while they’re fresh so I don’t have a To be Reviewed pile.

    But I feel for you. It’s tough some times.

    I say review one of the Cabot’s.

  9. Meg says :

    I actually write so much faster than I read that I pretty much review a book immediately after finishing it. If I have a particularly great reading weekend, I’ll finish a few books and then schedule posts throughout the following week, but pretty much? My thoughts are immediately recorded!

    Sometimes I think it would be good to get some distance from the novels; my emotions and feelings are always much higher after just finishing a novel. But maybe that’s part of what makes them authentic? I’m not sure!

    And if I didn’t review the books immediately, I’d have far less blog content! haha

    I have many piles, too, including a “review copy” section and another section of books loaned to me by friends I must return! Library books go in there, too. My bookcase is reserved for everything I own and am on no timeframe to read.

  10. Bella says :

    What a great pile of books!!!!

    I’m a bit pedantic about my reviews. I always write them up as soon as I finish for fear I will forget what I want to say.

  11. Ceri says :

    Wow, that’s your to be reviewed list? That’s amazing, Kay. Haha!

    I’d like to see your review of Soulless. But I’m quite curious to find out what Zombie Blondes is about too. 😛

  12. Staci-Life in the Thumb says :

    Hate List is fantastic!! I don’t write notes…I just sit down and start writing!! 😀

  13. kay says :

    Alita : Spin was really good! It was fun and refreshing. I’ll try to get my review of it up soon!

    The1stdaughter : The City of Glass was a really good conclusion to the previous two books! Sadly though, I wasn’t that found of Soulless, but most people enjoyed it.

    Lenore : I would LOVE to have as small a pile as yours! I’m working on that, but with school I don’t have as much time as I would like to to write reviews.

    Amanda : Yeah, I thought about that. In fact, I might write a bunch of mini-reviews on spring break so I can clear that shelf!

    Firefly : I know what you mean! I’ve started taking notes because of the reviews, it really helps when comes the time to write them, otherwise I forget all!

    Kathy : Haha! Your expression says it all! I really enjoyed Hate List (if “enjoy” is the word), my review should be soon, too.

    Becky : Glad to know I’m not the only one fighting this! But we can fight this, right?

    Juju : Cabot is a good idea! I so enjoyed these two books, I can’t wait to read the third one!

    Meg : I like having some time and distance, but not THAT much! Lol! I think your review really are authentic, though, and always well balanced, I wouldn’t change anything to them. 😉

    Bella : I wish I could be pedantic about this, too. Maybe once I get over this pile, I can be quicker with this!

    Ceri : Sadly, Neither Soulless or Zombie Blondes were really good to me. But Soulless was okay, just not what I was thinking it would be.

    Staci : It was really great! I had a hard time getting into it, but once I passed the first half, I really was into it.

  14. heidenkind says :

    I don’t read that many books, so I don’t have them piling up to be reviewed.

    I think you should review Soulless next.

  15. Kate at Read This Book! says :

    I’d say read Airhead and Give Up The Ghost! Both are great books! =D

    My To Be Reviewed pile is fairly small, about 10 books. I do have a bad habit though, I tend to read and review books I buy/borrow and neglect the ones I have for review! >.<

  16. avisannschild says :

    I have a crazy to-be-reviewed pile too, except I don’t make notes (gulp!). I so need to catch up on my reviews…

Leave a comment