Review : Nice Girls don’t Date Dead Men

Nice Girls don’t Date Dead Men by Molly Harper
Pages : 376
Genre : Paranormal Romance, Humor, Vampires
My Rating :

With her job at an occult bookstore and her “vampire coming out” a few months in the past, you would thing that Jane’s life is now somewhat more stable. Except, it isn’t.

She still isn’t sure where she stands with Gabriel, her sexy sire who keeps disappearing for work – or so he says. As if her own love life wasn’t puzzle enough, she also has to deal with her grandma’s new fiancé, who seems to be hiding a deadly past, and her best friend’s Titanic themed wedding. Who said eternal life was all fun?

So Molly Harper did it again : what a fun vampire novel! Yes, this one had a lot more of the promised romance, but Jane’s humorous voice is still as clever and entertaining. I was glad to see that the author could add a little of the first without compromising Jane’s voice.

So, this book had a little less action and danger than the first one. As a story, I liked it a tiny little bit less than the previous book, Nice Girls don’t Have Fangs. But, what I really loved in this novel is how the relationships developed – and I’m talking about all kinds of relationships : love, family, friends, ghosty, etc. If this gives you any indication, I would say this novel reads more like a chick lit than like an urban fantasy novel. I wasn’t bored one second with it!

A huge part of the story centers around Zeb and Jolene’s upcoming Titanic themed wedding, and as usual the preparation for the Big Day is cause for lots of emotional situations. Add to the usual setting Jolene’s protective werewolf family and Zeb’s crazy controlling mother, and you are good for an unsettling adventure!

The characters in this series are so different one from the other and so entertaining, I would have a hard time picking a favorite. Jane’s interaction with them is in turns funny and touching, but the tone is generally light – even with her family, who mostly hasn’t come to terms with her new vampire status yet. Which reminds me that Jenni, Jane’s sister, is highly unlikable!

So, I really enjoyed this novel. Reading Molly Harper is like stuffing yourself with candy – without the guilt trip. And I really can’t wait to read the next book in the series, Nice Girls don’t Live Forever, coming December 2009!

nice girls dont live forever

Series Reading Order

  1. Nice Girls don’t Have Fangs
  2. Nice Girls don’t Date Dead Men
  3. Nice Girls don’t live Forever

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Review : Nice Girls don’t Date Dead Men”

  1. bermudaonion says :

    I don’t think this is the book for me, but I’m glad to see a character named Zeb since that’s my dad’s name.

  2. Juju says :

    Sounds like fun 🙂

  3. Staci says :

    I didn’t think it was possible to want to read another vampire book and then you wrote this fun review and now I feel the urgent need to read them!! Thanks! 🙂

  4. kay says :

    Kathy : That’s a fun, short name, and not one we see often it seems!

    Juju : Yes, it was! 😀

    Staci : They really are fun books! I hope you’ll enjoy them if you give them a try 🙂

Leave a comment