Review : Liar

Liar by Justine Larbalestier
Pages : 371
Genre : YA
My Rating : 

Remember all those articles and blog posts on Liar‘s first US cover? Well, I’m glad I can say that there is more to Liar than its cover controversy! Liar was a surprising and captivating novel that I had a hard time putting down (ask my clock : I finished reading this one around 3 am last week!)

What it’s about :

From the start, there is one thing Micah will freely admit : she’s a compulsive liar, and so she lies to everyone about everything. When her boyfriend disappears and is then found murdered, Micah decides its time to tell the truth, and only the truth she promises to tell you. The question is : can you believe her?

I’m going to do this spoiler free – and believe me, if you intend to read this book, you should stay away from spoilery reviews too!

There is one huge twist in the middle of the book, and I absolutely didn’t see it coming. It took the book to a very different level! Because of this, I’m guessing that readers will either love or hate the twist, but personally I was really surprised by the originality of it. I couldn’t see it coming, but thinking back about it, I thought it was really clever.

I was really impressed by the complexity of Micah’s character. Even when she reveals some of her biggest secrets, you still don’t know whether you can trust her words, or not. It makes sense to believe her, and at the same time, it doesn’t! Did she lied again? Or is she finally being honest? The author keeps you guessing until the very end. But more than that, you get to learn a lot about who Micah is, and why (well, when she’s telling the truth that is!)

The ending felt a little rushed, and some parts felt a little slow. Other then that, I really enjoyed reading Liar. Unreliable narrators are fascinating, and Micah was no exception!

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Review : Liar”

  1. Amanda says :

    Now that I’ve started reading reviews of this (and seen the trailer), I’m much more excited about it. I have the ARC copy with the bad cover on my shelf, that I picked up from ALA, and I hope I like it. I thought Larbalestier’s How to Ditch Your Fairy was just okay, though my 8 year old loved it. This one looks better though.

  2. Ceri says :

    Great review! This is one I definitely want to read. I had no idea there were twists in here – Ooh, makes me all the more curious to read it.

  3. Megan says :

    So glad this one has lived up to the “hype” generated by all the cover controversy! I definitely want to read it, too, and am glad you’re so spoiler-free 🙂 hehe. It’s very hard to write reviews without giving too much away, but you’ve done a fine job! I’ll definitely look for it! I love unreliable narrators, too. Somehow I always wind up trusting them, even when I know I shouldn’t…

  4. Juju says :

    fab review 🙂

  5. bermudaonion says :

    I’m glad to know there’s more to this one than the cover controversy. I love twists in the middle of books, so I’m looking forward to this one now.

  6. Staci says :

    I’m certainly on the bandwagon to read this one and I love the new cover!!

  7. kay says :

    Amanda : Funny you mention “How to ditch your fairy” : I saw it in the store after reading Liar, but thought it seemed a little young for my taste. Liar wasn’t like that though, I think it was written for more mature readers. I hope you enjoy it too!

    Ceri : Yup, there are twists! And more than that, you’re not even sure whether the twists are real or not…

    Megan : Oh, I do the same thing! I always want to believe that they’ve changed for the best… Although I’m not telling you if this one has 😛

    Juju : Thanks! 😀

    Kathy : I hope you’ll enjoy reading it! There’s definitely more to it than its cover!

    Staci : I love it too!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Liar, by Justine Larbalestier « The Zen Leaf - February 1, 2011

Leave a comment