The Review Challenge

It’s time to clear off that pile of books that’s been waiting to be reviewed on the corner of your desk!

If like me you’re reading faster than you review, please feel free to join me in this challenge. The rules aren’t really strict, so you can shape it any way you like ;  this way, maybe we can all start 2010 with a clean book-slate!


When : From October 1 to December 31, 2009

Set your objective : Whether it’s all of your books waiting for reviews or only part of the pile, set your objective! Once you’ve joined the challenge, you can even post a list of the books you want to have reviewed by the end of the year. This can include, or not, the books you’ll be reading during the challenge. Really, it’s like you want it!

Sign the Mister Linky : This way, we can visit and cheer up each other!

Start Reviewing : Write your reviews and watch as the pile goes down!

Note : You don’t have to rush and post all your reviews as soon as you write them. In fact, it can be a great idea to keep them as backup for those weeks when you don’t have as much time and/or motivation to write new stuff.

I would also like to offer a small prize at the end, for those who join and finish up. Any suggestions?

Tags:

13 responses to “The Review Challenge”

  1. Amanda says :

    Good luck, Kay! I generally write my reviews immediately after reading, so I’ll be all caught up when I post my last one tomorrow, but if I fall behind, I’ll be back! 🙂

  2. rachel says :

    this is just the determination I need! thanks for this!

  3. kay says :

    Amanda : Thank you! I wish I wasn’t that behind with reviews, but I’m hoping that, next year, my reviews will be more up to date, like yours!

    Rachel : I’m glad to read that 😀 I’m sure we can do it!

  4. Ceri says :

    That’s a really good idea. So many times I see people read awesome books that I want to read their reaction to but they don’t put the review up.

    I won’t be joining this challenge because I read slow and manage to review them all fine but good luck with yours 😀 I’m sure you all can do it!

  5. avisannschild says :

    Oh Kay, this is so the challenge I need, although I’m almost embarrassed to admit how many books I need to review at this point! (I’ll go and check out your list in a minute, to see if it makes me feel any better!) I’ll definitely be back to sign up for this one!

  6. Literate Housewife says :

    Good luck to everyone! The one good thing about not reading as fast as everyone else is that I don’t get so far behind on my reviews. That’s not to say that I’m not behind. Truly, I am with books to read. I’ll be posting a “books to read backlog” confession later.

  7. kay says :

    Ceri : Thank you for your words! I’m sure we can do it too. I try to review most of what I read, but as you can see, I did get a little behind!

    Avisannschild : Oh I would be glad to see you join! (it’s much more fun not to be alone! 🙂 ) And now I’m curious about how many books are in that pile of yours! 🙂

    Literate Housewife : Can’t wait to see that post! I have some of those too… ouch!

  8. Aelysium says :

    This is a great challenge! I’m so behind with book reviews. 😦
    I’ll have to sit down and write a list before I can add myself to your Mr. linky. And I don’t know about wordpress, but blogger has an option where you can schedule your posts, or just leave them in draft form. I’m going to sit down and write as many reviews as I can, and then schedule them to post intermittently.

  9. cutlex says :

    Hello Meg!

    Oh my ! I am joining ! This won’t keep my idle at least. I accept the challenge though I don’t really have that “pile” of books but I do read fast! :]

  10. cutlex says :

    BTW. Should a Book Review be elaborate as Laurel Ann’s at Austenprose?

Leave a comment