The Artsy Shelf – 8 – Cats!

So the dog might be the man’s best friend, but I believe the cat is probably the reader’s best friend! So many readers – and writers – have cats, and I’m no exception. I found funny covers with featuring cats, and here they are in all their glory :

artsyshelf cats

We all know about Dewey, which I have yet to read. Pretty cat too (and you can find more picture of the real Dewey here). It’s really hard not to like a book cover showing a cat with books! As for the Louise Rennison‘s cover, I love the whole series covers. Coloful, young, and funny too! This cat looks so devilish as he looks to the cupcakes, aww!

I don’t know a thing about The Magical Christmas Cat (except that he is really fluffly!) and The Power of Three Warriors (which is, I think, a series for kids?)

The blcak cat on Laced with Magic looks absolutely like The Furry One, right now sitting on The Man of the House’s computer chair, making sure I don’t write stupidities about cats. I love this cover : the colors, the cat and all the pretty yarn! I really miss knitting, I can’t do it as much as I would like.

Finally, I chose I am a cat’s Japanese cover because it’s really cute and funny. The English one is more pretty than funny. I’m right in the middle of this book and I really liked it. I have no idea why I stopped reading it, but now seems like a good time to get back into it!

Are you a cat person too? Any of these cover reminds you of your furry best friend?

Tags: ,

12 responses to “The Artsy Shelf – 8 – Cats!”

  1. bermudaonion says :

    The cover of I Am Cat reminds me of your artwork!

  2. Amanda says :

    I’m not a cat person – not an animal person, actually – but Marian Babson’s cat covers are always very funny. I read Nine Lives to Murder last year, and it had a cat dressed in tudor clothing on it…

  3. Juju says :

    I gotta read Laced with Magic.
    🙂

  4. Nymeth says :

    I’m definitely a cat person, with 4 kittehs to show it 😀 I particularly like the cover of I Am a Cat, and I keep hearing the book’s good too.

  5. Amy Reads Good Books says :

    Very cute! You’re right it seems like readers almost always have cats. I’ve got a great one!

    A few years ago, I saw a Japanese film called “I am a Cat.” I wonder if it was the film version of this book? I’m looking forward to your review!

  6. claire says :

    I’m more of a dog person than a cat person but that last book, I am a Cat looks wonderful! (I agree with bermudaonion, it’s similar to your art.) 😀

  7. Staci says :

    The Warriors series is pretty good. My middle school kids gobble this one up. I loved Dewey…made me cry though!! And Rennison…her books are fantastic. Great covers…I love my puppy Bruce but cats are pretty cool!!

  8. Ceri says :

    I was always more of a dog person but my man has two cats so I’ve grown to absolutely adore them. 🙂

    I love those covers so much. I didn’t know the story of Dewey – I’ll definitely have to give that one a read. And the Love is a Many Trousered thing is to die for 😛

  9. justicejenniferreads says :

    I’m a cat person at heart – I love the cute fluffly creatures. Unfortunately, I’ve recently developed a horrible allergy to cats (my sister has had once since she was little) so cats are pretty much out of the question for me. My boyfriend has a wonderful cat who adores me, Betty, (she reminds me of the cat on the Bretton cover) and I try to pop some allergy pills when I’m at his place so I can get some cat lovin.

  10. christina says :

    I’m so a cat person, like many others up here :P. Thanks for posting this. Too cute. (Although I have to say, I was pretty disappointed with the writing of Dewey! 😦 )

  11. avisannschild says :

    It’s funny because I love cats but I dislike all these covers, with the exception maybe of the first and last ones. (I don’t love either of those either, but they don’t turn me off the way all the others do.)

Leave a comment