Sunday Salon : Celebrations and Books!

The Sunday Salon.comThis weekend was a Very Important weekend, as it was the celebrations of two things. So, if you want to skip the personal stuff and go straight to the bookish things, scroll down! 🙂

The first celebration was The Man of the House and I’s “anniversary”, on Saturday! We’ve been together for 6 years (and engaged for about 4 of that!) We had a nice supper at our favorite Mexican restaurant and I bought books. Which is totally irrelevant to the celebration, but you know, there was a bookstore on our way, and what do you want me to do, ignore it? Yeah, right! 😛

And today is my Grand-Mother’s birthday! Happy birthday Grandma! Today, she is… 100 years old! That’s right! She’s a Century old and she’s AWESOME!

Why my Grand-Mother is awesome :

  • She’s lived a 100 years (!!!!)
  • She still has a great memory and a great sense of humor.
  • Her favorite birthday present is balloons!
  • She likes to read mysteries with serial killers.
  • She always keeps a chocolate box for her guests
  • She had 12 kids! 12! My mother is the second youngest and the youngest of the girls. Which makes me the baby of all my cousins. Which also means that :
  • My Grand-Mother could build her own army : some of my cousins are grand-parents themselves (!!!), which means we have 5 generations in my family. It’s like bunnies!
  • When I was a teen I tried to shock her (God knows why) by saying I would dye my hair neon blue, and all she answered was : “Oh, that would be SO pretty with your blue eyes!”
  • She’s a though cookie. About 4 times a year they drive her to the hospital in ambulance and the doctors tell us “not to get our hopes up” and that “there’s little chance she’ll be with us more than a few days”. 10 years later, she’s still there.
  • She was married for love. When my grand-father passed away, 20 years ago, she said, crying : “It’s worst than divorce, because neither of us wanted it!” He was her one true love. *sigh*
  • She just is! She’s always been there for us and I love her!

I can’t imagine living a hundread years old. When I think of all the things she’s seen, it makes me dizzy :

  • She has seen wars, among other WWI and WW2 (although she was quite young for the first…)
  • Television appeared.
  • Then computers.
  • Telephones, too.
  • And then, cell phones.
  • Think of all the presidents! And Canadian Prime Ministers!
  • The Beatles!
  • She has seen Michael Jackson’s birth and death. It seems silly, right? But calculate : she was 48 when he was born!

In the family, we have theories that she might be a zombie (but she smells good) or a vampire (but she can go under the sun… without sparkling!). She has a theory of her own : “I think God just forgot to pick me up!” 100 and still funny : did I say she was my Super Hero?

And now, on to the Bookish things!

Books I read this week :

  • Vampire Diaries, omnibus edition tome 2, The Fury and Dark Reunion, by L.J. Smith
  • Twenties Girl, by Sophie Kinsella
  • Before I Die, by Jenny Downham

Reviewed this week :

Also, if you haven’t already, click here to help me pick up my 50th review!! It will be posted at the beginning of this week!

Question of the Day : Is making lists a hobby? The OCD in me enjoys this way too much!

Today I’ll be reading The Ghost Writer by John Harwood. I borrowed this book from the library over two months ago and couldn’t get into it before now. It’s really slow but well written with a certain air of mystery. I’ll also be reading the tons of blog posts that are invading my Google Reader.

Tags:

30 responses to “Sunday Salon : Celebrations and Books!”

  1. JoAnn says :

    Happy anniversary…and your grandmother sounds like a pretty amazing lady! We should all be so lucky to have a person like that in our lives…
    As to list making…I’m calling it a hobby, cause I like it way too much, too!

  2. Nitestar says :

    What a great post! I love that you still have your grand mere!!!!

    I miss mine so very much!

    Congrats on the anniversary.

  3. Liyana says :

    Your grandmother sounds amazing! Happy birthday Kay’s granny! Did you know that you share Singapore’s birthday, and it’s only 44 years old?

    My granny just went overseas on holiday. *is jealous* Bring me, granny!

  4. Amanda says :

    I LOVE your grandma’s response to the blue hair thing. That just rocks! And wow, 100 years is amazing.

    Happy anniversary to you, too.

    And if making lists is a hobby, I’m there. Oh yeah. 🙂

  5. Nymeth says :

    Happy anniversary to you and your boy, and happy birthday to your grandmother! She really does sound awesome 😀

    And yes, making lists is a hobby…I enjoy it way too much myself 😛

  6. Juju says :

    1. Your grandma sounds like an amazing woman. Thanks for sharing your wonderful list with us. I cried when you wrote about her losing her husband. It made me think of the begining of Water for Elephants.
    2. Twenties Girl is waiting for me too.
    3. If making list is a hobby than it’s my number 1 hobby. I’m an obsessive list maker.

  7. Juju says :

    PS
    Happy Anniversary!

  8. debnance says :

    I hope to be like your g-ma….old and doing exactly what I want!

    Happy anniversary and happy birthday!

  9. ~ames~ says :

    Hey Kay, happy birthday to your grandmother! That’s amazing.

    And what did you think of Twenties Girl?

  10. Literary Feline says :

    Happy anniversary! LOL I do understand the need to stop by the bookstore–you were in the area after all. It would be a crime not to have stopped in.

    Happy birthday to your grandmother! My grandmother would have been 89 this past Friday. You’re grandmother sounds like a wonderful woman. You are lucky to have her in your life and she you. I love her comment about God forgetting to pick her up. 🙂

    As to your question of the day: Oh, absolutely! I love making lists. 🙂

    I hope you enjoy The Ghost Writer. I read it awhile ago and really liked it. Have a great week, Kay!

  11. Steph says :

    Happy Anniversary! 6 years – wow!

    And also, happy birthday to your grandmother! 100 years is a pretty incredible accomplishment, and she sounds like a pretty amazing lady.

    Can’t wait for your thoughts on The Ghost Writer! I have it sitting in my pile, but I think I’ll wait until October to read it… that’s the best month for spooky books, right?

  12. Ceri says :

    Your grandmother is awesome! Happy Birthday to her. What a life – God, I love old people. They don’t get the respect they deserve but they have so many ‘wow’ stories to tell about their life. 😀

  13. Ceri says :

    Oops, and happy anniversary to you and your other half 😀

  14. Dani in NC says :

    For me, making lists is more of a sickness :-). I love to make lists of tasks and goals, but I rarely do anything on the list.

  15. Karen says :

    Happy Anniversary! Always an excellent reason for a celebration I think!
    I think list making is definitely a hobby – it certainly is for me!!

  16. christina says :

    Yay for birthdays!

    Yay for lists!

    Yay for anniversaries!

    Sounds like a most excellent Sunday.

  17. Marie says :

    Wow, what a wonderful Sunday! Happy b-day to grandma, happy anniversary & look at all that reading- and lists!

  18. Melissa (Betty and Boo's Mommy) says :

    Happy Anniversary and happy birthday to your grandmother! 100 is wonderful and she sounds amazing. My grandmother is 96, still going strong, and we’ve been speculating whether she will make it to be 100. I’m thinking it might happen ….

    Congrats to all!

  19. kay says :

    Thank you everyone! Usually I try to answer individually each message but you’ll forgive me if this time I just give you a huge, general THANK YOU!!

    I am also extremely happy to see that I am not alone with that list-making addiction! We should start a club, maybe?

    ~ames~ : I loved it! It was fun and light and I was sad when it ended.

  20. ~ames~ says :

    Thanks Kay. I’ve been on the fence b/c I don’t like ghosts. LOL

  21. Violet says :

    What a lovely post. Happy Birthday to your grandma. I wish I was as close to my grandma as you are. My mom’s mother expired when she was very young and I haven’t met my dad’s mother for more than a year even though she lives only 2 hours from my house.

    I’m sure she is ecstatic to have such a huge and loving family.

  22. gautami tripathy says :

    Hope you had a great anniversary!

    Happy birthday to your grandma!

    My Grandama is 93 years old! And still going strong.

    TSS: Tommy Gun Tango by Brant Randall/Bruce Cook

  23. heidenkind says :

    Oh my gosh, 100?? That’s amazing! I knew a girl in grad school whose grandma was 103–mind-boggling.

    I can’t wait to read your review of The Vampire Diaries!

  24. kay says :

    ~ames~ : If scary ghosts are the ones you dislike, you have nothing to fear of this one! Sadie is one of the funniest ghost I’ve read about. She’s annoying at times, but never scary!

    Violet : I can understand that, too; I have lived similar things but with my grand-fathers. I didn’t get to know them since they both passed away before I was 5. Thank you for your wishes!

    Gautami : Thank you! 93, wow! Isn’t it inspiring? I’ve been amazed by my grand-mother’s strength for many years now : we are lucky to have such strong women in our lives!

    Heidenkind : I can already tell you, that I really liked The Vampire Diaries! I wish I could have read them when they first came out, it was exactly the kind of book sI liked when I was a teen.

  25. Bella says :

    I’m a day late, but hey…

    Happy Anniversary! Lists are full of awesomeness! I keep a huge list of my TBR because it makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something 🙂

  26. bermudaonion says :

    Your grandmother sounds extra special. What a beautiful tribute to her.

  27. Melissa @ Melissa's Bookshelf says :

    Happy Birthday to your grandmother! I wish mine had lived to 100, too! Your grandmother sounds a lot like she was–very special!!

  28. kay says :

    Thanks everyone! 🙂 She is really special, and I was really happy to share a little part of her with you all!

  29. Jillian says :

    Great suggestions for reads. I especially can’t wait to get my hands on Kinsella’s newest one, Twenties Girl. I always enjoy her books.

    If you like Sophie Kinsella, you’ll also love a new book called ‘Knickles and Dimes’. It has hilarious characters and a great story. I’d recommend it!

    Anyway, thanks for the suggestions : )

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Saying Goodbye « The Infinite Shelf - March 11, 2010

Leave a comment