BTT + What’s on your desk?

what_s_on_your_desk_wednesday_err_thursdayToday I was tagged by Biblioaddict, with the famous “What’s on Your Desk Wednesday?” (hosted by Alternative read) I think it’s such a fun idea and I’ve had so much fun watching other people’s desks that I was happy to oblige.

Grab a camera and take a photo of your desk! Or anywhere you stack your books/TBR pile. And no tidying!
Tag at least 5 people!

Or, if you’re digital camera-less, you can:
List at least 5 BOOKISH things on your desk (I’m thinking your TBR pile or books you haven’t shelved…)
List at least 5 NON BOOK things. (I’m thinking some of some of the more unusual items on your desk/table?)
Tag at least 5 people to do the same.

Come back and leave your link, so we can come and visit your blog. Or add your answers in the comments.

This week’s Booking through Thursday is about unread books :

Give me the list or take a picture of all the books you have stacked on your bedside table, hidden under the bed or standing in your shelf – the books you have not read, but keep meaning to. The books that begin to weigh on your mind. The books that make you cover your ears in conversation and say, ‘No! Don’t give me another book to read! I can’t finish the ones I have!’ “

In my case, it’s perfect since my TBR pile IS on my desk!

The proof :

TBRPILE_july2009

Yes, those are almost all books to be read! And yes, there is a pile hiding behind my second screen of which you can only see the top of, under the photos on the wall. (My main screen is hidden by the books). Now you know, I wasn’t joking when I said I am building a wall of books around my desk!

There is also another pile that you can’t see, against the wall, in the same rown as the pile with the yeti plushie : it is as high as the pile with the Hello Kitty on top!

The ones that are not “To be read” are in a pile behind the glass of water : those are to be reviewed (so basically, my “To be read pile” doesn’t get smaller, it just moves around my desk). And behind the “to be reviewed” pile, there is… another pile of books to be read! Although, in my defense, those are mainly photography books, knitting books and my huge Oxford Classical Dictionary. Look here, I even took another picture!

TBRPILE_july2009)2

The piles have no particular order : mainly, I just try to build them so they don’t fall on my head. But, I’m a little obsessive compulsive, and I have a few specifications : books of the same series must be together, but books of the same color cannot be side to side! Also, I cannot have a smaller book under a larger one (even if the difference is the smallest one). Oh, and the most important : each pile must have an even number of books (I don’t like odd numbers…) It’s not really something I think about a lot, it’s just something I do. Okay, now can laugh at me all you want! 🙂 I live really well with my little quirks 😉

If you look at my desk, you can find out a few more things about me :

  • I keep an old nametag from my last retail job, to remind myself why I am going back to university. When the pressure is too hard, a single glance at that memento and I’m back on tracks!
  • I used to be a Hello Kitty collector. Now I only buy a few special items from time to time, like this leather one made for MAC cosmetics (love!)
  • I love plushies, too, especially if they are unusual animals! Like my yeti plushie, sitting on a pile of books (see first picture)

As for the books to be read, I am not going to make a complete list; but, I have part of it listed here, on the Paper Brick Wall page.

bearofborrowedbook

Finally, I present you Omgr, also known as the “Bear of Borrowed Books”. Under his arm are the books I borrowed and that are to be read, and on his lap the books that are read and/or read to be returned. You should also know, that Omgr is wearing an old sweather of mine!

My main objective now is to clean my bookshelf so I can : a) put more books in it and b)take a picture of it and share it!

I really didn’t plan on a post this long! I hope that by now, you didn’t fall asleep (or you will wake up with “YTREWQ” stamped on your forehead!)

NOTE : I didn’t tag anyone, because I can’t remember who did it or not! If you haven’t yet and would like too, do it and leave me the link! 🙂

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “BTT + What’s on your desk?”

  1. Staci says :

    Your piles are out of control but I like it 🙂

  2. bermudaonion says :

    You’ve made me feel much better about my stacks! Mine look like chaos but I have them organized in a system only I can understand.

  3. Sheila DeChantal says :

    Thems a LOT OF BOOKS! LOL

    http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/

  4. Meghan says :

    Wow, I think I’d feel a little claustrophobic if I had all those huge piles on my desk! I do have two piles but they’re not nearly as tall as yours.

    I like your system for borrowed books. For me if a library book has made it to the floor next to the door, it’s ready to go back. Not quite as cute!

  5. karinlibrarian says :

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your book piles. It makes me feel a lot better to see that your books are taking over your workspace too. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Also, I love your header! I’m adding you to my Google Reader. 🙂

    Karin

  6. Amy Reads Good Books says :

    Wow! I think you take the cake for a TBR pile. That’s a lot to look forward to!

  7. Megan says :

    Okay, I’m a little bit in love with Omgr! What a clever idea… the Bear of Borrowed Books. And an excellent system!

    Since I (finally) reorganized my room, I started putting all the books I’ve borrowed / need to review quickly on one particular shelf. A much better system than the one I had before, which was… um, just throw that book in with all the others in that corner!

  8. Lisamm says :

    You could open your own store!!!

  9. avisannschild says :

    Wow, what fabulous piles you have! I have piles on my desk too, but they are much more haphazard (and hazardous, as the cats tend to push them over)! I’m inspired by your piles, but I think my partner would freak if I had that many books around my desk. Then again, he might appreciate their neatness…

    Pop by my blog — I’ve given you an award.

  10. Melanie says :

    does 1 count as a pile or do you have to have stacks of 2?

  11. Steph says :

    I have piles like that too 🙂

  12. Shannon says :

    I love your Mac Hello kitty!

Leave a comment