Review : Prada and Prejudice

Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard
Pages : 270
Genre : Ya, Austen fiction
My Rating : 

In a few words, Prada and Prejudice is Jane Austen meets the Wizard of Oz. But you might like a longer description of the book, so here it is :

To impress the popular girls on a high school trip to London, klutzy Callie buys real Prada heels. But trying them on, she trips…conks her head…and wakes up in the year 1815!

There Callie meets Emily, who takes her in, mistaking her for a long-lost friend. As she spends time with Emily’s family, Callie warms to them—particularly to Emily’s cousin Alex, a hottie and a duke, if a tad arrogant. But can Callie save Emily from a dire engagement, and win Alex’s heart, before her time in the past is up?

I had some expectations for this book : Austen fiction, cute romances and time travel being themes I usually really enjoy, I was hoping I could enjoy this book – and I did! It was a light and charming romance that went by quickly, with many cute and funny moments and entertaining characters.

One of the book’s strenght was Callie, the main character. I loved that she wasn’t a Austen fan – or a litterature or history buff, for that matter. Her strengths being maths and science, she is totally unprepared to the world she lands in. She has no clue as to what is supposed to be happening in 1815, making her clumsyness even more apparent – and funnier for us to read! But this also means that you don’t need to be a Austen fan either to enjoy this book. The writing is nice, too: it flows lightly with natural and simplicity, and it was easy for me to relate to Callie’s voice.

One thing to keep in mind though, is that you need to suspend your disbelief when you jump into the story. While it is made clear that Callie’s travel is a learning experience for herself, there is no explanation as to why and how Callie goes from present to past, and back. She has no say in it; it just happens. If you can suspend your disbelief though, you’re in for a great travel!

Prada and Prejudice is a quick and entertaining read, perfect for a day under the sun. I enjoyed it and would certainly read a sequel – even though there isn’t one planned… yet? 😉

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Review : Prada and Prejudice”

  1. Laura says :

    OK, one more for the Jane Austen challenge. I may end up doing this after all.

    Thanks for the review!

  2. Mandy Hubbard says :

    Thanks for the review! So glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  3. bermudaonion says :

    Sounds like a fun summer read!

  4. Amy Reads Good Books says :

    I agree! I’ll have to pick this one up for our beach vacation!

  5. nat @ book, line, and sinker says :

    okay, i the title alone had me laughing! i read a book of this genre last summer and it cracked me up–modern day girl finds herself inexplicably transported back to austen-day england. it was a hoot and this novel seems like a fun summer book for me to read while on vacation next week! thanks. 🙂

  6. kay says :

    I’m glad I could inspire some of you! 🙂 I really hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did : it certainly is a light and fun read!

  7. Karen says :

    I have this book on its way to me right now and I have it down for the Austen challenge. Sounds like a fun read – nothing out of this world but sometimes light and fun is just what you need!

Leave a comment