Booking through Thursday – Niche

booking through thursday

There are certain types of books that I more or less assume all readers read. (Novels, for example.)

But then there are books that only YOU read. Instructional manuals for fly-fishing. How-to books for spinning yarn. How to cook the perfect souffle. Rebuilding car engines in three easy steps. Dog training for dummies. Rewiring your house without electrocuting yourself. Tips on how to build a NASCAR course in your backyard. Stuff like that.

What niche books do YOU read?

My “niche” isn’t quite original or specific, but it is, mainly, art books – with a big interest for photography, ancient art, oriental art, renaissance painting and pre-raphaelites.

Since I’m studying art history and I’ve been doing photography for a few years, it’s unavoidable, when I enter a book store or the library, that I have to stop in the art section. I love books on genres or categories, but also books that presents an artist’s work, in parts or completely. I can stare at an image for a long time, and I do believe that an image is worth a 1000 words. To me, literature and art are linked, and I can sit and look at a book with only pictures and then say “I’ve read it”.

One of my favorite photography book is On this Earth – Photographs from East Africa by Nicky Brandt. It is simply Breath-taking : if you have to have one book of animal photography, this is the one. Here’s an idea : I think I’ll stop now and just post a 5 stars review sometime soon! Meanwhile, here’s the cover :

I could post and post and post about photography books, which makes me wonder, suddenly; why have I never done so before? Many other readers seem to be obsessed with book covers, and to be into design, graphism, photography, etc.

What about you, reader? What is your niche?

For more “Booking through Thursday”, click here!

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Booking through Thursday – Niche”

  1. gautami tripathy says :

    I had seen a Salvador Dali book sometime back. However, it was much beyond my reach. I have promised myself…one of these days I will go back and pick it up..

    Booking through niche

  2. Jacqueline C. says :

    I love photography! Here are mine: (1) and (2)

  3. karen (morsie) says :

    I’m so enjoying looking at all the responses to this question.
    Such a varied group we are.

    Beautiful cover on that book you posted about. I have some art photography books, but not enough to consider it a real niche.

  4. Amy says :

    Great cover! I should check out some art books soon!

  5. Mish says :

    I’ve some art books on my shelves, as well as books about theatre, cooking, and fishing.

  6. uncertainprinciples says :

    I absolutely adore Renaissance art, and love buying glossy books on art, and just being wowed by some of the amazing things artists have done. In fact, I love going to museums and just staring at art, and almost wishing I could do something like that!

  7. Swingset says :

    I have a few books on photography as well. I look forward to reading your review of “On This Earth.”

  8. Rebecca says :

    I am really liking this BTT topic. It is so entertaining to read about everyone’s niches. My sister is big into photography. She has a lot of Ansel Adams, of course. I am not sure who else she likes. I will see if she knows of/likes Nicky Brandt.

  9. Novroz says :

    ow…so that’s what niche is!! is my choice can be considered as niche? http://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2009/06/13/btt-niche/

  10. Tina Kubala says :

    Checking out art books from the library is a perfect way to see art I may never get to experience in person. And to be inspired, even if I only play at art and photography.

Leave a comment